Article III of the bylaws for the Florida Vintage Raceboat Club reads as follows;

Section 2. Numbers and Tenure –
The number of Directors of the FVRC shall be no less than five (5) and a maximum of nine (9), with each Director having one seat on the Board. The Officers of the FVRC consist of the Commodore, Vice Commodore, Secretary, and Treasurer, as set forth in Article IV, Section 1.
Each member of the Board of Directors shall serve a two-year term with 2 to 5 members to be elected in even numbered years, and 2 to 5 members to be elected in odd-numbered years. The Directors ballot shall detail the number of open Director positions and the nominations for those positions.
Section 3. Election –
Directors must be members in good standing of the FVRC and the APBA, and must be of legal age. The members of the Board shall be elected by a majority of the votes resulting from the election. No Director shall be the spouse, significant other, sibling, or parent of another Director. The term of office shall begin upon election. Each Director shall hold office until his/her successor shall have been duly elected, or until his/her death, or until he/she shall resign, or shall have been removed in the manner herein provided. It is the responsibility of the Board of Directors to solicit nominations for open Director positions, and to create a Director’s ballot. The election of Directors shall occur prior to the Annual Meeting and will be administered via email.

With the cancellation of our normal November event we have not yet set a date for the Annual Meeting. You will be notified as to time and call in numbers in a subsequent email. Working within the bylaws this requires that I, as chairman of the FVRC call for an election of officers for 2021 by December 31, 2020.

Please be advised via this email the FVRC is seeking nominations for election to the BOD. The following directors of the FVRC will remain in office for the completion of their term ending in November of 2021.

  • Tom Smyth
  • Ted Jones
  • Rich Luhrs
  • Tom Keyes
  • Dave Richardson

The following officers terms are complete at the end of 2020.

  • Jeff Buckley
  • Jean Batronie
  • Jed Wolcott
  • Beale Tilton

Beale Tilton will be stepping down. We want to thank Beale for everything he has done in furthering the goals of the FVRC.

Back to the bylaws this then means we will have the opportunity as members of the FVRC to elect 4 members to a 2 year term as officers. Jeff Buckley, Jean Batronie and Jed Wolcott have all agreed to stand for reelection.

In addition Roger Hinsdale and Jamie Smith who stepped down last year but have continued to participate and are a great help. Both have indicated their desire to once again be on the BOD.

Responses to this “Call for Nominations” are due from the membership (you) within 30 days that being October 16, 2020. Any responses received after that date will be disregarded.

All candidates nominated above must attest to their willingness to serve. They are also required to submit a single paragraph biography to the secretary (me) for general publication to the membership. If you are nominating a candidate please discuss it with them so we don’t end up with folks who really don’t want to pitch in and do duty.

The consolidated slate of BOD nominations to the FVRC will then be emailed back to you as members to cast your ballot. We will have this in your hands by October 23, 2020 with balloting to be complete by November 27, 2020.

Thanks for being part of our organization.

Dave Richardson
Chairman – Florida Vintage Raceboat Club
email: LauterbachGP200 at gmail.com